@financial guys- variable vs fixed on 5 yr refin

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ericn2k3

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been paying my loan pretty aggressively and only recently decided to refinance to reduce my fixed 6.8% rate. Going with CommonBond I have 2 options.

5-year repayment:

Est variable: 2.47% $1,826.94/month (max 8.99%)
Est fixed: 3.71% $1,883.78/month

The monthly payment is a non-issue as I'm paying more than that now. I plan to pay off the loan in less than 5 years. What I'm uncertain is the variable rates. I have no knowledge of the market to predict the near future. I could you your advice. Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Your question stated a different way is Japan (low, stagnant rates) or Weimar (low rates followed by super, super inflation high rates).

If you had asked the question 5 years ago (2011) variable rates "won" but at a risk point that's pretty risky.

The way to "price" that under classical theory is to look at the 5 year rate as people locking that rate assume that's the highest "best" rate available.

Short versus long bond rate:
https://www.treasury.gov/resource-c.../Pages/TextView.aspx?data=yieldYear&year=2016

Technically, with institutions buying between the 1.8 and 2.3% rate, that's seeming to suggest that the banks think that rates won't increase beyond that spread. Problem is that when banks mess that up, you have a credit crisis. Even with 1% higher, 3.47% is still lower than your fixed quote.

In 2011:
https://www.treasury.gov/resource-c.../Pages/TextView.aspx?data=yieldYear&year=2011

2.3-3.2% were the rates quoted, so if you had "saved" to buy until today as a bank, you lost on the spread (you should have bought in 2011 not today).

Is the lower rate something that you are willing to risk considering this? That's why the banks are loading up on the debt because it's so, so cheap.