Got same score on the MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

soyyos

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I took the MCAT last year and got a 31 (12PS, 11V, 8 BS) with a writing score of R
and I got the same exact score again 31 (12 PS , 10 V, 9 BS) with a writing score of S

I have a sGPA and uGPA of 3.95 in Biology.

I do not know how this will affect the admission process --- I am having a hard time raising my Biology score and it doesn't help that my major is Biology.

Should I retake the MCAT if I want to get an interview with a top 20 medical school?

Here is some advice I got from another website:

The AMCAS summary page lists your most recent MCAT score, the second-most recent score, and a reading for the total number of MCATs taken. Taking the test more than once can work in your favor if you improve, but it can be a black mark if you do poorly in a particular subject more than once. If your first test results indicate a weak area, make sure you prepare well before you take the test a second time. Officially, you can take the MCAT only three times per calendar year, but an unlimited number of times overall.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,
I took the MCAT last year and got a 31 (12PS, 11V, 8 BS) with a writing score of R
and I got the same exact score again 31 (12 PS , 10 V, 9 BS) with a writing score of S

Should I retake the MCAT if I want to get an interview with a top 20 medical school?

There is more to getting an interview at a "top 20 medical school" than your MCAT score.

There is more to life and becoming a physician than getting into a "top 20 medical school." But that's for another thread.

If you take the MCAT again, I'll match the wager of your choice that you score within +/- 2 points of 31. Which will still be below the median score for most of the "top 20 medical school(s)."