How is math used in research and clinical medicine?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

noroxytocin

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I'm a premed student, and I'm taking calculus right now. One of the things that motivates me more than anything else in school is knowing that what I'm studying is either useful and/or interesting. So I was wondering how I might be using calculus in the future, and also so I would remember it better in the future. Right now I only know that it is useful in economics, so that is what I remember most about it. What other kinds of math are commonly used? Also, do people usually hire people specifically to do math, or does it make you a lot better to be able to do most or all of it?

Members don't see this ad.

Statistics is huge in research. Being able to understand stats really well would be especially useful for folks going into bioinformatics (genome/transcriptome/those kinds of studies where they use a lot of modeling to characterize cell types, for example) -- but for all areas of research, really. Or at least this is my understanding. Maybe someone with more experience can chime in/correct me if I'm wrong?

How do they use it to characterize cell types? Thanks for the reply.

Members don't see this ad :)
I hope a DVM/PhD student is allowed to play over here...

I agree with @noolsy about statistics. If you enter a research program, you will almost certainly be taking an advanced statistics course. You probably won't run many of the calculations yourself, but you need to understand what is being calculated and how to interpret the results.

On a smaller scale, multiplication and division for determining dilutions is crucial in my (basic sciences) research and in clinics. When a dog is seizing in Emergency, I'll need to work out a diazepam dosage accurately and quickly.