Impact of Researching Programs on Interviews/Acceptance Rates?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

clip.clop

I'm a doctor too.
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
To preface, I realize there are plenty of"duh"-esque obvious/common sense answers to this question. It's still been piquing my interest lately. That is, I wonder what impact researching a program and potential faculty mentors really has on one's success/acceptance rate.

Of course I'm speaking about the point at which you've already received an interview invite and therefore have already done the basic amount of research necessary to make that informed decision to apply.

The thread on sample interview questions really got me wondering, mostly; chiefly the more recent post about being asked the question "What are you NOT looking for in a program" and similar variants. I've read entire program manuals and felt very prepared, and I've also seen other applicants so poorly prepared that they're awkwardly citing article titles verbatim and trying to make it seem like casual conversation.

I'm also thinking, from the devil's advocate standpoint, that perhaps this practice of researching programs and faculty members to a point that's well beyond what's necessary to make an informed application decision and almost borders on stalking (kidding...at least I hope) actually doesn't matter. That is, as long as you know the basics, have common sense, and don't act like a spaz or make an otherwise poor/"odd person" impression, the rest is all but a chance occurrence.

So, without confusing everyone further, I'm wondering if we can do a sort of informal poll/establish some sort of basis of understanding.