Is large animal experience needed?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

N1235

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

While I know that academic standards are a HUGE part of the veterinary application, I'm wondering how important diverse experience is?

I believe I have diverse experience, but I am afraid that since I do not have large animal experience my application will just be shoved aside or that it will hurt me in the final decision.

My experience includes:
Shadowing a small animal vet-35 hrs
Columbus Zoo animal care internship - 385 hrs
research involving exotic birds in Costa Rica - 200 hrs
Researching involving tropical poison frogs/ caring for tropical poison frogs - I have been working in a research lab for the past three years
Shadowing a different small animal vet - 355 hrs
Hired as a veterinary assistant at a small animal clinic - started in April of 2015 and still currently there.
Volunteering at animal shelters - 200 hrs
Club member of Animal Welfare group at my University

I am about to enter my senior year of college. I have decided not to apply this summer for multiple reasons including wanting to retake Ochem 2 and the GRE. I am wondering how much of a priority gaining large animal experience should be for me for this upcoming year ? Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

You do have a lot of small animal, and I think that gaining some vet experience in Large Animal or exotics would help you immensely. If you can find LA places, go go go! In my last two application cycles I had 3.5 years of working in SA Neuro, but I was told by both schools that rejected me to broaden my experiences. So I've been doing my best to get that tough to get LA experience.

Reactions: 1 user