Is this the end for me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

valencia2027

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I graduated undergrad with ~3.0 GPA. I received a 23 on my MCAT (took it a few years ago). I recently did a one-year SMP masters program, but failed to reach the cut off. The first semester I got a 2.88, and the second semester I got a 3.7. Although I worked really hard to try to be in the top 50% of the class, my first semester GPA still brought me down.

I am now thinking of what other options I can take. My advisor suggested that I re-take my MCAT, and apply again to schools. However, I think that my first semester GPA in my masters will cut my chances at getting in anywhere. Should I start thinking of alternative options?

Members don't see this ad.

If your MCAT grade is more than 2 years old you have to retake it again anyway.

Reactions: 1 user
your adviser gives crap advice.

if you want it, work for it. search sdn on "low gpa". spend weeks reading, taking notes, absorbing. be the grownup in charge of your fate.

don't even think about an mcat retake for at least another year.

best of luck to you.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)
your adviser gives crap advice.

if you want it, work for it. search sdn on "low gpa". spend weeks reading, taking notes, absorbing. be the grownup in charge of your fate.

don't even think about an mcat retake for at least another year.

best of luck to you.

Thanks! I have actually been lurking on the low GPA thread for some time. I guess the issue is I have one semester of good grades, one semester of bad grades, and a low MCAT. I'm not sure which issue I need to tackle first. If I were to re-take my MCAT, I'd have to start prepping for the new exam. If I were to take some more classes to boost my GPA, I'm not even sure what classes I'd need to take (since I took year 1 medical student classes during my SMP)