Manual Dexterity Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

swimmer101

Reaction score
For this section, are you supposed to list manual Dexterity hobbies that you have participated in or something that you are actually good at and do often. I am having a hard time of thinking of what to do but I am applying next cycle. I am not very artistic or talented in that aspect. I have been trying several things like crocheting but it’s just not my thing. Do you guys have any recommendations? Should I try to do classes? I participate in painting, soap bar carving, etc. in clubs but not sure if that is enough. Someone older in my club said that in her interview she mentioned that she does pottery and she was asked to explain step by step what you have to do. That is why I am concerned as I have tried some of the listed ideas but I am not very good at any of it. Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I wouldn't overthink it too much. You have a very limited amount of space to put things down so you can't elaborate too much on it. Which I guess explains why they asked. But tbh, it doesn't have to be anything crazy. If you participate in painting and soap carving you can include that. I had that I was a helper for a cake decorator and was asked about it a few times in my interviews as that isn't as common. But again, you can include whatever. I also did a lot of small molecular biology things in the lab I worked in so that was included.

But realistically they just want to see that you can do something with your hands and that you know dentistry is for you. You will be trained much, much further in school with your hands. So as long as you have something you should be just fine.

Reactions: 1 users