Mid-life career change: Psy.D. or LMHC?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Michael W

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am hoping to transition into a career in psychology from my current job in humanities academia, and I have some questions about the feasibility of this and how to pursue it in a strategic way.

Here's some brief context on my background:
I got a fully-funded Ph.D. in literature from a top university 7 years ago and have worked at some prestigious (Ivy League and Big 10) universities, but always in non-tenure-track roles. I've also worked in special education and educational consulting for students with autism and other learning disabilities, as well as mental health issues. I've taken the prerequisite undergrad psych classes and have done published, peer-reviewed research in literature, but I have no psychology research experience--and probably no way to get any while working full-time at my current job. That being said, I have always been fascinated by psychology and driven by the desire to understand and help people-- especially children/youth. And I'd prefer to become a psychologist, rather than a LMHC, due to the deeper intellectual background and much higher income potential, even if it takes a couple more years.

And here's some brief context on why I want to do this at this point in my life: