This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Can an optometrist have a nose piercing?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

AnonymousCollegeStudent

Biology Student
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently an undergrad student who wants to go to optometry school. Will having a pierced nose (1.5mm stud) affect my chances of getting in? Will it affect my career in terms of professionalism? Does anyone know an actual optometrist who wears a nose ring/stud? I've read similar threads like this, but for students concerned about medical school. Is it really a big deal to wear a nose ring in the world of optometry as it is in medicine?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
If you are worried about it affecting your chances of getting in, just take it out for the interview. I guess it depends on your patient. I personally wouldn't really care if my optometrist had a nose piercing but if my optometrist had a bunch of piercings all over their face and tattoos everywhere then I might be a bit skeptical lol.

I've never seen an optometrist with any type of visible piercing or tattoo. But a tiny stud really shouldn't be a big deal, if you were wearing a giant hoop then people might be like ehhh... haha. I think you will be fine. Just maybe take it out for the interview.

Reactions: 1 user
If you are worried about it affecting your chances of getting in, just take it out for the interview. I guess it depends on your patient. I personally wouldn't really care if my optometrist had a nose piercing but if my optometrist had a bunch of piercings all over their face and tattoos everywhere then I might be a bit skeptical lol.

I've never seen an optometrist with any type of visible piercing or tattoo. But a tiny stud really shouldn't be a big deal, if you were wearing a giant hoop then people might be like ehhh... haha. I think you will be fine. Just maybe take it out for the interview.