Optometrists opinions on optometry

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AresTheGodOfWar

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently an undergrad and thinking about doing optometry. I was wondering about the job outlook of optometry. I was wondering if finding a job as an optometrist is difficult. Also, if many people go to private optometrists or are the big chains taking over. I know they have sites and stuff that say optometry's outlook is good, but I would like to see the opinion of optometrists. Thank you very much.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm currently an undergrad and thinking about doing optometry. I was wondering about the job outlook of optometry. I was wondering if finding a job as an optometrist is difficult. Also, if many people go to private optometrists or are the big chains taking over. I know they have sites and stuff that say optometry's outlook is good, but I would like to see the opinion of optometrists. Thank you very much.

A simple search of the archives of this forum will reveal literally dozens of threads where this topic is bantered around ad nauseum. Start with that, and then if you have specific questions, post them then.

A simple search of the archives of this forum will reveal literally dozens of threads where this topic is bantered around ad nauseum. Start with that, and then if you have specific questions, post them then.

Agreed.

Also, as I'm sure KHE would agree, finding a "job" (wally world et al) is easy. Finding a career where you are happy and respected is MUCH more difficult.

To put it in current economic terms, I think optometry is definitely in a recession.

Do a search for "Naive Optometry Students" and some of KHE's synopsis threads.

Members don't see this ad :)