Optometry School Ranking

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Member78681

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have applied to and been accepted at UIW-Rosenberg (San Antonio), NECO, SUNY. I have interviews left at UHCO and ICO. I really liked NECO because of its clinical program. I am a Texas resident so UHCO definitely makes more sense to attend there because of cost. Is there a "ranking" of the optometry schools? I should hear back from UHCO and ICO in the next week or so after I interview. If I do get accepted at UHCO, it will be a tough choice between NECO, SUNY and UHCO. Ideas/thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

No official ranking.
Established schools will differ slightly in edcuation and a little more in clinical emphasis & opportunities for off site externships.

IMO, the majority of OD's would rank the schools:

ALL ESTABLISHED SCHOOLS
UIW, Midwestern, Western
Puerto Rico & the new school in Mass.

If you're accepted at Houston, I think it's a no-brainer.
I'd travel to NECO or SUNY before taking a chance on an unestablished program.

i got an interview to uiw but i rejected it bc it is not accredited. what makes you put an unaccredited school ovrr pr?

Members don't see this ad :)
Oh I'm declining UIW. I think I will end up picking between UHCO, SUNY, and NECO.

Oh I'm declining UIW. I think I will end up picking between UHCO, SUNY, and NECO.