pharm d to med?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mik30102

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone this is my first time posting on the threads. I wanted to ask people if I am on the right track to med currently, and ask peoples opinions if my idea is idiotic and unrealistic. Anyway I'm currently a p1 student. I came to pharm school through a 0-6 program, and I realized after working in a pharmacy the last summer that I hated it. I was very bored in retail and can't see myself doing that for the next few decades. I talked to my pre med adviser about possibly applying this coming year, and he thought I should wait until I graduate. My ecs suck, but I plan to start volunteering at a hospital or hospice center this winter break, and continue this when I go home for breaks the following years. My undergrad gpa was a 3.7 with a slightly higher science average. I expect to get a 3.7+ my first p1 semester, and hope to continue this. If I do I think I will be able to make Rho Chi which is honor society for pharm school (top 20%). I have yet to take the mcat at all, but if it helps I got high 300s to mid 400s on my pcat sections without preparing at all, and not taking orgo yet (pcat was a formality for my school). Anyway what I'm asking is if I keep up these stats (and assuming I get a 30+ on the MCAT) will I have a shot at med school once I graduate pharm school. Other question is if this is even a good idea. I really want to switch eventually since I feel like med school is really for me. I had terrible reasons for going to 0-6 pharm school (cared about graduating earlier, other stupid reasons), but I feel like med is the real place for me. Financially it will also be kind of scary since I expect to graduate pharm with 230kish in debt (private school). I know med school will probably make this become almost 500k, but along if after loan payments I bring home around 70k that will be fine with me.