Pharmacy School with young kids...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

emmiepharmd

Accepted Pharmacy Student
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know this nontraditional forum is mostly for pre-med students, but i was curious to know if anyone here has been a mom going through pharmacy school with young kids or knows someone who has? i am 31 with two pre-schoolers and i am hoping to go back for my pharmD next fall. i would love to talk to someone who has some perspective on how to balance school and family- i know there are a lot of threads about med school with families, but from what i can tell pharmacy school wouldn't be quite as intense...

Members don't see this ad.

Hi there. Don't think that you are being ignored. You asked a pretty specific question and since most people here are older pre-med or med students, it may take a while to get a response.

I am a parent to two preschoolers, but I'm a medical student and not exactly sure how the situation translates to pharm. I'm sure there are some sililarities.

Good luck! James

I know a few moms who are in pharmacy school. Many of them are from out of state so they have their mom and husband taking care of the kids while they are away. I know one single mom and she spends time with he daughter and is involved at school. With a lot of organization, it can be done. You may have to make a choice whether you want to get straight A's or whether you are ok getting some Bs and maybe Cs. You will need a network of supporing family and friends.
Best of luck

Members don't see this ad :)
hey thanks to both of you for the advice/encouragement. i am sure it CAN be done, i guess i just wanted to hear stories of others' success...! i am going to continue to look around in the pharmacy forums too. thanks so much!