Post-bacc Pre-DO School Programs for Low GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AEnomore

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated from my undergrad with a 2.64 (DO calculation) GPA in Aerospace Engineering from Georgia Tech. I really want to become a doctor, but as a family man, I had to do some things to earn that paycheck before I could consider my own desires. Therefore, I graduated having only the 1 year of physics and 1 semester of chemistry towards the pre-med requirements. I have not yet taken the MCAT, but I would like to take the rest of the pre-med requirements first so that I have a more solid background in Biology and Chemistry. I have been working full time for the past year as an Aerospace Engineer, but I want to go to DO school to become a doctor. I have read on here that people suggest a post-bacc program for low-GPA people. Since only formal post-bacc programs will offer financial aid (which is a must for me, since I would be out of work during it), I cannot do any informal post-bacc work. Can anyone suggest any formal post-bacc programs that I could get into (with my GPA) where I can take the rest of the required classes in preparation for DO school? I generally do well on standardized testing and I hope that I can get 30+ on the MCAT when the time comes. Thanks for the help!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not sure where you heard that only "formal" post-bacc programs will give financial aid, but if by formal you meant a structured program geared specifically towards premed, there are plenty of other paths to get you where you need to go while still offering financial aid.