General Admissions & OTCAS Prereqs at CC vs Postbacc?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RaphOT

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! I’m a recent graduate from UC Irvine with a BA in a social science major. The last 2 quarters, I didn’t really I didn’t want to pursue a career related to my major or the internships that I had been doing.

I’m planning on starting Prereqs to go to OT school, but I was wondering if there was any preference on courses taking at a 2 year community college vs. a 4 year University? I’m considering an informal post bacc at a state college, but would much rather do it at a CC because of the costs.

I’m interested in SJSU, CSUDH, Dominican, University of St. Augustine - San Marcos, West Cost University, and Stanbridge University in case that makes a difference!

Any information would be super helpful! Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,
I believe most programs have no preference where you complete prerequisite courses as long as it’s at an accredited school. I know for sure SJSU and Dominican don’t have a preference.

I would look at their program prerequisites list. If they do have a preference it should be mentioned there.

Reactions: 1 user
CC all the way!! That's what I did (besides Abnormal Psychology; they didn't offer it at my local CCs so I took it at UC Berkeley Extension). It's soo much cheaper and personally I found my professors to be more educated than the ones at my university. So you can definitely get quality education for a fraction of the price!

Members don't see this ad :)
Hey everyone! I’m a recent graduate from UC Irvine with a BA in a social science major. The last 2 quarters, I didn’t really I didn’t want to pursue a career related to my major or the internships that I had been doing.