PSA from a practicing dentist: Many of todays dental students will never pay back their loans

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DentalPSA

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been practicing as a dentist in the bay area for the past 7 years. When I went to dental school at UCSF, the total cost of attendance was a fraction of what it is today. This cycle my cousin is applying to dental school, so I have been doing some digging into the current costs. I am dumbfounded.

This is a public service announcement: Paying back your loans may be next to impossible. Don't go to dental school without first taking a serious look at your finances, and calculating the total cost of attendance for your 4 years, as well as cost over a minimum 10 years of repayment. To do this, you must include interest as it accrues. Don't use the online FinAid calculator, and don't pay attention to the numbers posted by your dream school. GRAD SCHOOLS DO NOT INCLUDE INTEREST when reporting the average debt of their students.

As an example, I will look at Penn, inarguably one of the most sought after dental schools in the nation.
Cost of attendance (COA) for the first year is estimated at $107,764, including tuition, fees, and room/board. Some of you will say "I can life frugally and pay less for room and board", so for your sake I will make it $104,000 total cost for year 1
-- I will include a 4% tuition increase and 2.5% cost of living (COL) increase each year (following, or actually undershooting, current trends)