Running codes as an intern?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sean wilson

Membership Revoked
Removed
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Various stories abound regarding this issue, but what I've heard most commonly is that interns do not run them. Instead, residents handle them, though you might be pimped as to the right thing to do during the code or afterwards as an intern.

Anyone run codes as a fresh PGY-1?

Members don't see this ad.

usually there is a code team that is already set in place at each hospital so the intern is hardly ever the one running the show...most code team mebers are well versed in acls and bls....you dont need to worry as an intern how to run a code,,just be a part of it

At my institution, interns participate in the code team, however the code leader is a PGY-3.

lf

Members don't see this ad :)
It depends. As an EM intern, my first day in the ED I ran two med resusc codes in the ED (with my attending behind me, but they let me do everything). On the floors as house officer, I would run the codes unless one of the senior residents wanted to take over.

If you're at a big institution, likely you will never be the only physician there. However if you're at a rinky dink little community hospital you may run it by yourself.

They're not as bad as you think. Just remember basics!

Q, DO

When I was an intern...if you new your stuff you could run it. All of the EM residents are expected to run codes as an intern.

My first off-service rotation in residency was MICU, and I ended up doing all the codes myself because the 2nd year IM resident had a tendency to just sit around wringing his hands wondering what to do next.

QuinnNSU said: