Screening for HIV, Hep B & Hep C

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

D30417995

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone know if the screening test for HIV, Hepatitis B & C has to be done on our own before enrolment or if it is provided free of charge by the school of medicine?

For those who are already in med school, do you still remember how much you paid to have the test done in Australia (particularly in Victoria)?

Thanks a lot folks!

Members don't see this ad.

When I started medicine at UNSW all of us were sent for check ups regarding vaccination hx and blood serology tests...including the mantoux test...as an International student I have medicare so the costs were covered by that...but medicare for me is about 300 bucks per annum if I recall...

At UQ we did hep and TB here. Very cheap, as I think my OHSC insurance covered most of it. I don't recall any HIV screen.

Members don't see this ad :)
Yeah...the OSHC...sometimes I don't feel like renewing it when the new year starts...we did have the HIV tests done though...

nathanesque said:
sometimes I don't feel like renewing it when the new year starts

hmm.., why's that?

Well it is definitely a form of insurance but sometimes you wonder whether your annual medical bills would necessarily amount to a couple of hundred...besides tuition fees are already expensive for me :eek:

Most medical students usually do the Hep and HIV test before they enter Australia.

JoeNamaMD said:
Most medical students usually do the Hep and HIV test before they enter Australia.