Servicemember looking to become a Dr.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rhorn

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all! I am currently an 11B (Enlisted Infantry,Army) I am stationed at Fort Campbell,KY and Im part of the 101st Airborne Division "Screaming Eagles" I am currently in Afghanistan.I am 21. I have about 16 months left in the army (Im not going to re-enlist). I will be getting on sometime around in July or August of 2015.. I plan on spending the rest of my time, when I get back to the states, to research what university to look for and exactly what specialty to look for.

I want to become a Dr. and earn my MD when I get out.. I know that I will need to do more research on exactly what college/university I will want to go to. I never have been to college (I left for the Army 3 weeks after I graduated High School.) But As far as Medical school, and the different medical specialties, I really don't know where to look or what specialty I will want to do.. Seeing how I am unfamiliar with exactly what type of doctor I want to become I was hoping I could be pointed in the direction of what I should be researching. I have read the medical school is often expensive, and I read a topic here on about what state has pretty cheap medical schools.. From what I read it was Texas, and it costs on avg 10k a year..