Tall Man Syndrome

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ILLchief

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Being 6'5" has its pluses but I'm afraid as a dentist I will suffer terribly. Anyone with this same tall man syndrome have any advice/workouts to prevent back/neck pain during dentistry? I know deadlift is prolly the best but can't do that as my knee is still messed up from torn ACL. I sometimes feel a light pinch in the middle of my back from my full-time dental assisting job but this may be due to that my dentist is very short and lowers patients basically to the ground.

Thanks all!

Members don't see this ad.

Just buy higher chairs when u start working lol

Reactions: 1 user
I'm 5'10".....I'd be glad to trade you for short man syndrome....

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Chin up variations, or barring the ability to do 10 reps at a time of those, lat pulldowns.

Rows of some sort. There's a ton of variety there so you can just find what suits you best (I personally like chest-supported rows).

Any posterior chain movement would be helpful I'm sure - hyperextensions, face pulls, good mornings and Romanian deadlifts are exercises I enjoy doing.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)

Last edited:
Dude if you're still at UofI, go to the ARC and get working on the reverse hyper-extension machine (its located in the corner by the powerlifting platforms - where no one ever goes, which is a shame because the glute-ham/reverse hyper in that corner are probably the best machines in that gym).

Why it's the best:
  • Dynamic strength development on the concentric phase = super strong back. You'd be surprised how weak you are with these initially.
  • Rehabilitation during the eccentric phase via depressurization- spinal column becomes filled with spinal fluid and the lower back muscles with blood (nutrients) = healthy back.
Man I miss that machine...:cryi: