Undergrad taking a grad course...failed 1st test. Should I drop??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ElizaThornberry

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am currently an undergrad senior taking a grad level Advanced Cell Bio course. I actually had to get an override to be placed in the course because I really enjoyed other cell bio courses. I studied. ...in depth for this exam....followed the book and ended up getting a 48% with a curve. The test was only out of 10 points but is 10% of my total grade. I am annoyed because what I studied for didn't show up on the exam. I need advice on if I should drop the course or not because the deadline is Oct. 12. I am afraid that since I have dropped some classes before that vet schools will deem me a "quitter". Advice???

Members don't see this ad.

As far as dropping I guess it would depend as to what your circumstances are- do you need this course? would getting a B in the course kill your GPA? Would dropping this course drop you below full time credit hours?

As for being a quitter dropping classes no such thing. If you drop before the drop date it doesn't even show up on your transcript- no one but you will ever know. I dropped classes at various times for one reason or another-maybe my schedule didn't work out as I had hoped, or a different class opened up that I would have rather taken. Now if you withdrew that's a different story as that is on your transcript. There is a place on VMCAS to explain things ie withdrew for the semester because a person got in a serious car wreck etc.

Reactions: 1 user
Also withdrawing isn't even that bad -- I withdrew from an online course because it was crummy and took it somewhere else instead. Did not stop me from getting into vet school.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I took a W in physics because I was not on a same wavelength as a professor...took it the following semester. No one cared.