WAMC: International Student, 3.76 sGPA 3.81 cGPA, 514->512 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

artsygirl02

Reaction score
I am an international student currently doing my undergrad in the US, and I will be starting my final year for my 4-year Bachelors in Biomedical Engineering.

cGPA: 3.81
sGPA: 3.76
MCAT score: 514 (131/125/129/129) on Jan 27, 2023 and 512 (129/125/129/129) on Jun 3, 2023
Country of Citizenship: South Asia
Undergrad: UNC Chapel Hill
Clinical Experience: 150 hrs as a volunteer at Free clinics (basically worked as a MA) and 200 hrs volunteer at the hospital ED as a behavior health companion and aide. No actual work experience due to visa restrictions (it's complicated)

Research: 1300 hrs in two labs related to regenerative medicine. Middle author in a publication under review with Nature Communications from first lab. Doing honors thesis project with second lab right now

Non-clinical volunteering: Adapting toys for children with disabilities (150 hrs), helping refugee families adjust to living in the US (150 hrs), swim instructor with Special Olympics (90 hrs), volunteer at Ronald McDonald House in Children's hospital where I provided support to families (60 hrs)

Shadowing: 50 hours with Family medicine and 20 hrs Emergency Medicine at time of application

Leadership: One of the senior officers who helped start a STEM mentorship service for underserved schools in NC. Outreach officer in the biggest dance company at my campus.

Extracurriculars: A modern jazz choreographer for beginner dances in the dance company, laser cutting and painting as a hobby