WAMC + School List: 520/3.3sGPA with strong Downward Trend/4.0 SMP/URM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

parkourparkour

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have a very atypical profile and would appreciate help making a list of schools that could be interested in me. I would like to apply this cycle as my MCAT will expire for many schools after this cycle but am worried my ECs might be lacking, any advice on this would be appreciated as well :) .

Background:
Black Female . Have a toddler. Legal Permanent Resident (but applying for citizenship). Grew up very poor, raised by single mother who also was a political refugee in a EU country. I immigrated here at 19 (english is not my native language). Personal/financial hardships throughout school.

undergrad GPA: I graduated 3 years ago with a 3.5 cGPA and a 3.3sGPA with a strong downward trend (see below). I had extenuating circumstances I will discuss in my app that may explain that drop (but nothing crazy or tragic, just your run of the mill hardships).
The first two years were also completed at a community college which may look bad?
1624586883371.png
1624586904608.png

MCAT: 520 (relatively even spread) taken sept 2019

SMP: Did a real SMP (no linkage) to remediate any concerns about my GPA above, graduated with a 4.0.
Worth noting that the program was 2hrs from my place of residence.

Research:
- I will have 5000 hours of being a clinical psychology research assistant then coordinator (paid) by Fall 2022. 1 publication (3rd author). Because it was very clinically heavy I plan on using that as clinical experience.
- 1000-1500 hours of Neuroscience research (bench work). 1 Poster and Research for credit
- 1000 more hours of various paid and unapid Medical Research. 1 pub (3rd author)

Shadowing:

15-20 hours ICU
30 hours online not sure if it's valued by schools?
currently 15 hours OB/GYN, anticipating 45-60 hours total by Aug 2021