What to do after getting rejected everywhere?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

paul411

ANES
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Match Day is over in Texas and I need to figure out what was lacking in my application as I try to fill in the gaps and strengthen it overall for the next cycle. Any input will be appreciated.

My MDapplicants covers most of this...

GPA: 3.93; B in "US History 1 (3.0 cr); B in "Health and Fitness" (1.0 cr)
sGPA: 3.98; B in "Critical Writing in Biology (1.0 cr)

I graduated in 2.5 years with 83.0 hours taken at my undergraduate institution (the rest, 48.0, were AP credit). Out of these 83.0 hours, 12.0 hours were obtained through research for credit. I AP'ed out of some pre-med requirements: Physics, Chemistry, Calculus and English. Could this be a hindrance?

MCAT (1/5/10): 30P = 11PS 11BS 8VR, P

Other stuff:
- Habitat for Humanity volunteer
- EMT-B course
- EMT-B clinicals + ~150 hours of extra volunteering in ER and ambulance
- Research: Been with the lab for about 2 years and I'm still working in it (Almost 3 years now) - we're about to publish a basic protocol paper (not first author)

Applied to Texas MD schools and got 5 interviews at UTSW, UTMB, UTH, TTUHSC-Lubbock, and TTUHSC-El Paso. No pre-matches and no matches :cry:

More details on the MDapplicants page, I guess

----

So, what should I do? It's already Feb and I have to apply in < 4 months.

• I'm starting to study for the MCAT which I will probably retake on May 1st.
  • Take more undergraduate courses to bump up the coursework load a bit?
  • Shadowing a doctor? Volunteer at the ER?
  • I joined the university's "Emergency Care Team" in which I'm the medic in charge at sports games.
  • Also, I probably need to make sure that my interviews weren't the problem... felt like I did pretty well but I guess not. How do I request the schools for feedback on what was weak in my application?

----
UPDATE 1: