What to do in my year off?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

canvasback02

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I applied to 9 dental schools this past cycle and interviewed at 2 schools but did not receive any acceptances. My DAT scores were 19 AA/20 TS/ 19 PAT. I majored in Bio and had an overall GPA of 3.63 and a 3.52 BCP. I have 200+ hours of shadowing, 200+ hours of research, 100+ hours of volunteering, good LORs, etc. I have the option to either get my MBA in the year off or go through a dental assistant training program and work as a dental assistant in a clinic or perhaps a dental practice once the program is finished. What choice would enhance my chances of getting accepted to a school this upcoming cycle? Thanks for all of the help! :)

Members don't see this ad.

If I was in your shoes, I'd study hard and retake the DAT to get 21+ on the AA and TS. I think if you retake, and get 21's or higher, you'll get a few acceptances.

Get a job, make money, and retake the DAT.

:thumbup: I second that @DHallenbeck.

To OP: Retake your DAT. Spend the time to really study and get a better score and once you're done get a job so you can start saving money for potential interviews.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello everyone,

I applied to 9 dental schools this past cycle and interviewed at 2 schools but did not receive any acceptances. My DAT scores were 19 AA/20 TS/ 19 PAT. I majored in Bio and had an overall GPA of 3.63 and a 3.52 BCP. I have 200+ hours of shadowing, 200+ hours of research, 100+ hours of volunteering, good LORs, etc. I have the option to either get my MBA in the year off or go through a dental assistant training program and work as a dental assistant in a clinic or perhaps a dental practice once the program is finished. What choice would enhance my chances of getting accepted to a school this upcoming cycle? Thanks for all of the help! :)