Why wasn't I ranked?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

brownie78

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am new here, an IMG who just attempted the match for the second time. Received a total of 6 interviews.
My grades are not stellar but ok (220 step 1 and 225 step 2) I am an old grad. All i want is a family medicine residency. Well i did not match which did not surprise me since i canculated my chances at 43%. What surprised me was that one place i interviewed at, was in the SOAP which means they did not rank me at all nor did they rank the other guys ahead of me.
I do not think the interview went bad, i might have been nervous or awkward at worst, i did not say outrageous things, swore, or was rude to anybody. I was complimented on my English and CV.
Now, this is a rural program and i had to interview at different spots for the same program: the capital first and the small town rural programs next. Which one of them put me in the DNR list i will probably never know.
It seemed like i had extremely positive feedback from the capital and from more than one of those rural programs, one even promised to rank me first if i ranked them first but he obviously lied, the program that ended into SOAP was very positive to me but then did not rank me at all.
Looking back i really cannot find any justification to why i was not ranked, i am not a creeper, a freak or negatively stand out.
I am waiting for the SOAP hoping to get a second chance maybe they will re-think this since they have met me?
Or they are so disgusted they won't bother?
These programs only had 12 applicants, how many did they rank? This programs has both position unfilled.
Either there's something wrong with me or this is a strategy that i do not understand.