PCAT question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

goheel

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I just bought a Kaplan PCAT studying book. Do the questions in there really reflect the questions on the PCAT? They seems to me too hard to do 60 questions in 30 mins, especially those chemistry problems that involve calculations. After looking over the questions, I think I only know about like 20 % of them. Granted, I'm only in my second semester of chemistry, and first semester of biology. I'm planning to take the PCAT in october. If the test like the one in Kaplan, I think i'm gonna do horrible :(

Members don't see this ad.

I would imagine that the Kaplan study book is pretty good. I didn't use that, but Kaplan has a good reputation. I used the Barron's study guide (some like it, some don't), and www.pcatprofessor.com. PCAT Professor was very helpful. You can quiz yourself often, and with many different questions on each topic. It gives you advice, hints, etc. For example, it points out what you should and shouldn't look for on the reading comprehension section. Thiings like that.

The only downside is it is costly (you purchase access to use the site), but if you have the money to invest, it's definitely worth it. I paid ~$60 for a 90-day access, but that was all the time that I needed.

As far as the chemistry goes, that is generally (along with math) the most difficult section, due to time restrictions. There are twice as many problems as there are minutes in which to take those sections, so you have to be able to think quickly and be able to use process-of-elimination guesses in a short amount of time.