question about Missouri-Columbia

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dalynn

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I applied to UMC and was absolutely appalled at the number (and type) of negative comments on the interview feedback. However, everything from this year so far has been pretty well positive (granted, there haven't been too many interviews yet...)
I was just wondering what y'all think about this school (especially those of you who have interviewed/attend UMC now). There are a lot of things that impress me, but I'm still concerned about the comments from previous years.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Sorry, I cannot answer your post, but I share your concerns and I am seeking the same information. I am a MO resident and thus, have a 50% chance of being granted an interview. I will watch eagerly with you for replies from our fellow SDNers.

I go to UMC, and will matriculate there for med school. I think someone got ticked off last year and posted a whole bunch of bad comments by himself. None of the stuff he or she was saying in the interview feedback seems to be justified.

The school doesn't control what specialty you go into, nor did they ask me during interviews.

The hospital's financial problems are behind them. I work for the hospital. We've been having congratulatory events regarding our financial status.

Someone complained about the interviewer being mean. I don't know any mean physicians in the city of Columbia, let alone that are on the adcom. I could be wrong, but it seems suspicious considering the family nature of the town and school.