Aspiring epidemiologist, underqualified for MPH?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cutiepie83

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone,
This is my first time here, and I'm an aspiring epidemiologist. But..I'm a little confused. My interests is not clinical epidemiology, I definately do not want to work in a laboratory, but I would like to work in field studies, like determining preventative measures for diseases, identifying carcinogens locally, etc. How can I ensure that I am not applying to right programs? Now I know you'll say read the websites, and I did, and I could distinguish in some of them, but some universities dont make it clear, and some programs are MSc in Epidemiology and others are MPH in epidemiology, I do want to get into public health, but since MPH they require experience, (and I've been told not as experience is required much for MSc, but I could be wrong).

As far as my public health experience goes, I have volunteer experience in acancer centre, a co-op position in a hospital's pediatric ward, a secretary position in a dental clinic, and a seasonal pharmaceutical position (where I focused on assisting on a project in a cubicle setting). Is that enough? or do I need more hands on experience??

My cumulative GPA is 3.0 and my last 2 yrs GPA ranged around 3.4. I will be writing my GRE soon, although I dont have a good feeling for my Verbal score (ranged around 370), since I started studying too late for it, but because deadlines are approaching, I had no choice but to book my test date. However my quant score (from what Ive been doing) seem to range in the high 700. (760-780 range). I have a week left to study and realllly hoping to get admitted to a school for the fall term.