"You're not a real doctor!"

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

alferec

Future Army OD
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
How would you respond to someone if they said to you "You're not a real doctor"? I'm sure many optometrists get that comment...

Members don't see this ad.

I'd say, "No... I'm a fake doctor!" :D

Most people associate the word "doctor" with an MD. I'm not an MD, so in that sense, I'm NOT a "real" doctor. But, my doctoral degree will be as real as anyone else's... only it will be in optometry, not medicine or dentistry, etc.

How would you respond to someone if they said to you "You're not a real doctor"? I'm sure many optometrists get that comment...

it depends... If it's a PhD who did a thesis saying this, then I'd shrink into a corner and agree that he/she is correct. But if it's any other health professional (PharmD, DDS), I'd say "you're not a real doctor either dingus", and if it's it's an MD/DO, i'd say "you're not a real either dinguses, you just manage to historically steal that title when everyone else in the world makes a distinction between a doctorate (PhD, hence Dr. blah blah) from a MBBS.

And if it's a patient, I'd say "give me your money".

Members don't see this ad :)

Coming from patients it is actually quite rare. I have only heard it a handful of times in my career. In each case I responded with this:

"Then why are you here?"

In all cases it happened very early on in the exam. In each case I immediately stopped and told the patient in as nice a way as possible to see a "real doctor."