Nontraditional student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lyndaelyzoo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I will be applying to vet school next year and am wondering if anyone has any suggestions about increasing my chances of acceptance. I am a nontraditional student who has been teaching biology and forensic science in a public high school for about ten years. I have always wanted to go to vet school and am finally going to apply next year. I have a BS in zoology from 1994 and have heard that the science prereqs must be taken within ten years of vet school. Does that apply if I have a degree? I will also receive a MS in Forensic Science from UF this month with a 3.9 GPA that included a mammalian pharmacology class through UF vet school. My GRE score was a 1080, and plan on retaking it in January. I have experience working with horses, worked as a vet assistant at an avian clinic for about two years before I started teaching, and will be spending a couple of weeks working with an equine vet in Wellington. I am planning on studying equine, conservation, or zoo medicine, and specialize in veterinary forensics. I will be applying to UF, UCDavis, Cornell, UGA, Tuskegee, Western, and Virginia-Maryland. Any advice is greatly appreciated. My main concern is the fact that I received my BS in 1994 and am wondering if that will affect my chances of acceptance. Please advise.

Members don't see this ad.

call the schools you're applying to! it's out of anybody's opinion whether you'll get in, if there are simply rules that the adcoms can't get around. in other words, you might be a fantastic applicant, but rules are rules, and they can't just overlook the age of your reqs just because you look good otherwise.