1 year out from Step 1 - study plan

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

caxoo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, was hoping for any advice/suggests regarding my study plan. I've read pretty much every post regarding how to score a 250+ (which is my goal), and have incorporated ideas here and there

I'm <12 months out from Step 1, my plan of attack is 2-fold:
- solidify current topics in class: organize relevant info from FA/Pathoma into ANKI, so when dedicated time comes along I'll have all the busy work out of the way already and can focus on studying
- relearn past topics in MS1: really unsure/worried about this tbh. I was a crap student in MS1, didn't focus on Step and crammed a lot - I'm probably weak in BCT, physio, micro. Was considering reading BRS physio for each organ system as I learned it in class, while just going through all of BCT again/taking notes in my off time, and watching Sketchy until I pass out every night. For stuff like anatomy/embryo/histo, I'm just gonna wait til I approach dedicated

I guess I'm hoping for advice regarding catching up in previous topics. One thing people say is to do firecracker or something for review, but I'm not sure how that works out if you pretty much forgot all the subjects - wouldn't that just involve flagging every question and pretty much learning it all from scratch? Currently I just started using it and I've marked down a lot of topic from MS1 for review, but it feels like I'm just blindly guessing for most of it and not really "learning" per se

Another thing I'm wondering about is use of qbanks in general. After yall go through your 100 or so questions of the day and look at the rationales, how do you retain that information? Do you incorporate it into your ANKI deck or notes?

Any help would be super appreciated

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: