17 MCAT what to do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

unoitdude78

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am really frustrated as it seems I am incapable of doing well on the MCAT regardless how much I try. I have taken this stupid test 3 times and have only managed to get a 17. For each one, I studied countless hours each day and have taken too many practice tests to even count. Still, I end up being in the 10th percentile. In school, I work at two different tutoring centers and everyone asks me for help in chemistry, physics, and math. I even have helped people out in bio. I have a descent GPA and I really am not stupid, but for some reason this test just doesn't work out for me. My problem is with the whole standardized tests...In high school I was in the top 10% of my class yet I had a pathetic 22 ACT. Basically, what can I do? I certainly don't want to go to the Caribbean. Please help!

Members don't see this ad.

I am really frustrated as it seems I am incapable of doing well on the MCAT regardless how much I try. I have taken this stupid test 3 times and have only managed to get a 17. For each one, I studied countless hours each day and have taken too many practice tests to even count. Still, I end up being in the 10th percentile. In school, I work at two different tutoring centers and everyone asks me for help in chemistry, physics, and math. I even have helped people out in bio. I have a descent GPA and I really am not stupid, but for some reason this test just doesn't work out for me. My problem is with the whole standardized tests...In high school I was in the top 10% of my class yet I had a pathetic 22 ACT. Basically, what can I do? I certainly don't want to go to the Caribbean. Please help!

Do you run out of time and get most of the ones near the end wrong or do you finish but get a lot wrong throughout the entire test? Is English your first language? What books are you using to review?