1st year AuD students---Jump in

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drcheaud

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I am a first year AuD student at A.T. Still University. We are in Mesa, AZ---where the Summer has just blown over--thank goodness! I am hoping to touch base with fellow 1st years so we can do a little networking and hopefully create a meaningful cohortive relationship.

I'll begin by describing some things we are doing here at ATSU. We have an anatomy/physiology class which is 4 credits (we are quarterly) and have learned extensively about the brain, cranial nerves, and blood flow throughout the body. We have access to many cadavers and have learned quite a bit--with main foci in the audiovestibular regions. We also have an auditory science class (taught by a PhD) and have learned "basic" principles about sound waves (complex, sinusoidal,etc.). We have a "professional roles" class which is just mainly ethics and current business practice methods. And lastly, we have a crash course on ComD.

Aside from classes (and mostly why I chose this particular university), we have clinics for four hours a week. Currently, I am assigned to a private practice at which I have been able to learn quite a bit and benefit from putting classroom and reality together.

If there are any other 1st years out there, please comment on anything! Looking forward to getting to know the class of 2013!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

I'm not an Au.D student, yet and I hope you don't mind me jumping in. I am an undergrad CommD major and I am in the midst of selecting classes for the next term. Do you think it would be beneficial to take a physics class before AuD school? I have already taken biology classes (Physio, Anatomy, Bio 101, BioPsych) and general chemistry courses.

Hi,