2.2 cGPA weighed against other credentials for DPT/MSPO

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
F

future_dpt/mspo

Hello everyone,

I'm a 2014 graduate of a 4 year school and I have had a pretty tumultuous last couple years. I've been working in rehabilitation (namely physical therapy, with some exposure to prosthetics) and really think I can be successful and happy in this field. Unfortunately, I graduated with a 2.230 cumulative GPA with 183/213 earned credits, due to untreated symptoms of depression and anxiety and being involved with someone who made me question my self-esteem, motivations and self-respect. I had a great counselor for one semester but she had to leave for professional reasons and I kept spiraling.

I am currently at community college and have completed A&P 1 and 2, Gen Chem 1, Phys 1, Intro Psych, Ab Psych, Growth and Dev, and Statistics with a 4.0 GPA and will be finishing up Phys 2, Gen Chem 2, and Bio 1 and 2 by the end of this year. I finished the GRE general test in the 95th percentile and I also have 2,700+ hours working in different outpatient clinics, which only confirmed that this is what I want to do. I will be starting volunteer work at a VA center for PT and prosthetics so I can get exposure to different settings. However, that cGPA keeps coming back to haunt me and I am evaluating how competitive my application really is if so many qualified people are applying. People have reassured me that schools weigh prerequisite GPAs more than cGPA but so many schools have a cut off that I can't be sure what ad comms would think of my application. Please let me know if this situation sounds familiar to anyone, and whether there is anything else I could do to be smart in my graduate school process.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hey future_dpt,