2.97 sGPA, 3.26 cGPA, 37R MCAT...Texas Med. Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

maverick09

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm applying to only Texas Med Schools (excluding Southwestern and Baylor because I already know that I don't have the numbers).

Undergrad: University of Texas at Austin

Major: Finance

Minor: Spanish

Science GPA: 2.97 (ouch, I know)

Cumulative GPA: 3.26

MCAT: 37R

Father and Uncle are both doctors (if that helps).

In short, I have strong recommendations and lots of extracurricular activities (everything is centered around leadership). I am either the President or Vice President of 4 different organizations and have received several leadership/community outreach awards. I studied abroad in Spain and have decent shadowing experience as well. I've done lots of volunteer work through my mom's nonprofit and have always done a mission trip over spring break.

My strength is interviewing. I am an avid public speaker and have a background in extemporaneous speaking from high school. We get a lot of interview prep in the business school.

I know my GPA sucks and that it will attract a lot of negative attention to my application. However, I think my MCAT shows that I understand the material well enough to survive Med School. Can I rely on this idea to save me in an interview?

Lastly, please tell me what you think and shoot me straight. If I need to go back and take some classes over again then I will. Once again, I just want to get into ONE TEXAS SCHOOL. I honestly don't care which one. I appreciate your feedback.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm applying to only Texas Med Schools (excluding Southwestern and Baylor because I already know that I don't have the numbers).

Undergrad: University of Texas at Austin

Major: Finance

Minor: Spanish

Science GPA: 2.97 (ouch, I know)

Cumulative GPA: 3.26

MCAT: 37R

Father and Uncle are both doctors (if that helps).