2017 No Interviews / No Acceptances Club (Post-Dec 1st)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

arghhh2020

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I have not received any interview offers from any of the schools I have applied to.
I was rejected from ALA today, and I guess IUSD too because their cycle closed.
Other schools I applied to: UMB, Howard, UNC, VCU, Rutgers, UIC, Tufts, Temple, UPenn, UPitt, and UL.

I'm a MD resident, going to graduate in May from UMD.

DAT: AA 20 / TS 20 / BIO 20 / GCHEM 20 / ORGO 20 / QR 17 / RC 24 / PAT 19
Overall GPA(+/-) = 3.62 sGPA = 3.40 sGPA (+/-)= 3.33
Shadowing= 115ish hrs
My application was submitted early June but was on hold until my DAT was confirmed, so Mid-August.

I guess my question is when should I start freaking out and what would be the best thing to do in my gap year if I don't get accepted anywhere? I'm thinking a one year master's program but I'm not sure.

Anyone else stuck in the same rut?

Members don't see this ad.

Considering that your application was only finalized in Mid-August, I would say have your heads up for post December interviews! Best of Luck!

Reactions: 3 users
Reading over your app, I would say you applied too top heavy. Submitting mid august is okay. I know UNC had their last interview NOV 4th. However, I would expect for you to get something Janurary-march. As for things to do. I would say research is becoming pretty much a pre-req for many of the top tier schools, also get that GPA up. Your DAT score is average for matriculation and I would say will get you through the door at many places (wouldn't retake unless you feel you will get a 22+). Also I would suggest more volunteering. It's too early too panic, there will be alot of movement after Janurary 1st. Best of luck!

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)