212/89, low basic science gpa, how competitive?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UCC

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just got back my step 1 score and was hoping I could get some feedback on how competitive I am for matching ob/gyn. Scored 212/89. My basic science gpa is below my school's average - mostly Bs and Cs, but no failures (ABCF scale). Also , I'm male since of I've heard that can help.

If I'm able to pull high clinical grades and hit the 90s on Step II, how competitive would you say I am? Should I try to target community programs or do you think I could match a good university program if I play my cards right (elective there, good letter).

Oh yeah, and I'm a non-US caribbean med student. Canadian though and will be doing all US rotations. It's one of the more "reputable" ones.

TIA.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
Your first place to look for info should be at the NRMP's "Charting Outcomes" research report:

http://www.nrmp.org/data/index.html

Scroll to the bottom of the page and you'll see it. It's a big pdf file with info on match statistics for most of the specialties, including OB/GYN.

In my opinion, you definitely need a high STEP 2 score, since 212 is lower than the average for successful applicants. Don't get discouraged, just do as well as you possibly can on STEP 2, so the programs can see that you know your stuff. You should also look into where your school has affiliations, and see if those hospitals offer Sub-I's or electives where you can really get to know a OB/GYN faculty member. As far as the Canadian thing goes, I'm not certain about this, but I think that will be a detriment to your app for US programs. Make sure you also apply to Canadian programs as well.