27yr old accountant thinking about med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medskoolmathguy

medskoolmathguy
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 27 year old accountant for a public agency here in CA. I am married and we have a daughter that turned 1 year old in March. I graduated with a degree in math in 2006 but my gpa was not that great since I was working full-time and also had a lot of extended family responsibilities at the time.

I was the valedictorian of my high school in 2000 and received a 4 year scholarship to a state school in Los Angeles. I dreamed about becoming a math/physics researcher and professor for many years but am now seriously considering med school.

Why do you ask? Because my whole life I have always wanted to help people, and seeing especially what my mom is going through now fighting pulmonary fibrosis, I feel that I want be able to directly help people in need, not so much inspire people to study math or physics by being a professor. I think about how a professor or researcher in astronomy, physics or math feels at the end of the day after studying the stars or solving an abstract equation, and it seems very unfulfilling to me.

The only thing that seems fulfilling and makes sense to me now is to become a doctor. I don’t know if it’s the best though. I am looking to get a promotion that pays about $70k a year at my current job, and work pretty much M-F 8-5pm in a very stable place. I spend a lot of time with my daughter and have time to work out and we can actually take vacations now. I am not sure if med school is worth the amount of time I will lose with my daughter in return for becoming a doctor and becoming more indebted with student loans (I owe about $5k from my undergrad).

The other thing is that I don’t have any clinical experience, and only took one course in physics at the college level. Everything else was math and comparative lit (my minor).