MD 3.89/510 Re-applicant, WAMC?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Beemo1999

Reaction score
Hi everyone! After having seen many other students get decent advice from these threads, I've decided to try out a WAMC post myself. As a bit of background, I am a graduate from the University of Maryland. I graduated with a 3.89 cGPA, 3.84 sGPA with a degree in Physiology/Neurobiology. I took my MCAT last year, and while I didn't do horribly (510), it was a bit below what I was usually getting on full length practice exams (514-515). My specific breakdown was 128 P/C, 125 CARS, 129 B/B, 128 P/S. I applied to the 2020-21 cycle without knowing my MCAT score, since I had to keep delaying due to COVID, and I may have applied to too many top tier schools. I got a few schools placing me on-hold, and one interview. I am working under the assumption that I will be applying again next cycle, and I was hoping to see how my overall application looks. I will go ahead and list my work/activity hours, as well as my prospective list of schools.

1. NIH Summer Research Internships: 900 hours
2. NIH IRTA Postbac Research Program: ~2200 hours
3. Poster Presentations: 3 posters from various internships and the postbac
4. Publications: I have a paper with a co-authorship, hopefully will be accepted soon
5. Conference Attendance: I took part in two genetics based research conferences
6. Clinical Volunteering: 140 hours at a pregnancy center serving an underserved area
7. Club leadership: 180 hours
8. Clinical Shadowing: 230 hours, ranging from small clinics to large hospitals
9. Emergency Room Volunteer: 50 hours
10. Food Service Volunteer: 100 hours
11. Tutoring: 110 hours, virtually taught K-12 students in the Washington DC area
12. Honors/Awards: Part of school's honor program, dean's list all semesters