3.93 gpa, 35 mcat, CT (MD/PhD and MD)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ohnoreilly

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I would really appreciate some input as to which secondary applications I should pursue, which would be too far out of reach and any schools I should add as safeties. Don't be afraid to be critical!

I'm applying to MD/PHD programs this cycle, with the option of MD consideration for most, so my background is pretty research heavy with less volunteering than I would like.

Twenty years old, 3.93 cGPA, 3.9 sGPA, 35 MCAT (11P, 12V, 12B)
BS: Molecular + Cell Biology, MS: Cellular and Development Biology (Concurrently at state school)

Research

• 3 years salaried research experience in an Immunology lab (poster presentation in Shaghai, China)
  • 1 year research volunteer/shadowing (100 hours) in pediatric ED
  • 2 years research for translational diabetes prevention study in underserved areas
Employment/EC's

• College IT support (2 years), secretarial (2 years), grocery store (4 years)
  • Shadowing: 40 hours split between, Chief of Pulmonary + Chief of Cardiac Medicine (MD/PhD)
  • Acappella group (acting president)
  • Creative science writing (2 journal publications)
  • Solid personal statement/LOR's
School List (all MD/PhD, some with possibility of MD)

• Reach: Harvard, Columbia, JHU, NYU, Penn State, Yale, Tri, Tufts, UPenn, UPitt
  • Goal: Albert Enstein, UConn, UMass, Rochester
  • Safety: SUNY Upstate, Stony Brook
Thank you so much for your input!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
  • Reach: Harvard, Columbia, JHU, NYU, Penn State, Yale, Tri, Tufts
  • Goal: Albert Enstein, UConn, UMass, UPenn, UPitt, Rochester
  • Safety: SUNY Upstate, Stony Brook
Thank you so much for your input!

I don't have any particular comments for your app, but I'm a little confused about why you consider NYU/Penn State/Tufts a reach while UPenn and UPitt are not.