3rd Time Re-Applicant, what do you think?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BergXK

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Folks, I’m a 3rd time re-applicant and would grateful some insight on where I stand this 2012 application cycle. Any input would greatly be appreciated and please be blunt with me on what I can expect this year, I want to have realistic expectations coming into the cycle and if I’m a stretch I would appreciate honestly.

First here is some background information on myself. I am of East Asian descent and I graduated in 2009 with a degree in biochemistry and psychology. My stats at the time were:

3.35 NONSCI
3.11 SCI
33M MCAT

Experience Pre College:
-150 Hours of doctor shadowing
-100 Hours of volunteer at Patient step down Ward
-2 summer internships at large pharm
-2 years of Insignificant Undergrad research
-Member of community Service club in college

I applied very late in October to a broad number of schools and received no interest. I applied the following year with almost no change in my stats in august and again received no interest. My substandard ECs, low gpa and late amcas submission were my cruxes. I had many recommendations from professors, the doctors I shadowed, and places of employment. I did not receive one interview and while the complete lack of interest was expected I was still quite disappointed. (In myself that is)

After applying 2 consecutive cycles in 2010/2011 I decided to skip 2012 to give myself some time to explore life. Although some of these life experiences have been life altering and strengthen my decision to pursue a career in medicine only very few seem to strengthen my application in my pursuit of medicine. The ones that do are as follows:

Experience Post College:
- 2 years of full time work experience after college in cell processing lab (Not really research but lab work)