3rd yr student needs help with timing issue

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Catatonic

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am a third year medical student who took a leave of absence after taking STEP 1 for a personal issue. I missed my first rotation, which was the 2 month surgery core clerkship, and I have to make up this clerkship at the beginning of fourth year. This puts a bind on the whole early match process because I am not allowed to take any fourth year rotations until I complete my surgery clerkship and I won't have enough letters of recommendations from ophthalmologists.

So I am wondering whether I should do a year of research after graduation and apply for the residency plus the transition year during my gap year OR whether I should apply for transition year during fourth year and apply for the ophthalmology residency during that transition year. If I do the latter, would it be possible to apply for a residency spot that starts as soon as I finish the transition year, or would the spots be all filled already? I really would like to prevent a gap year if possible but I'm not sure whether that's feasible.

Also with the weird timing issues, would I be competitive enough to match when I do apply? Here are my stats so far:
STEP 1 (taken once): 238/99
Grades: Honors in Ophthal, HP in ENT, Radiology (no core clerkship grades out yet)
Ranking: Average
Research: Poster presentation

Thanks for the advice!

Members don't see this ad.