401k during gap year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

moneyq1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

My company matches 50% of my contributions to our401k plan. Right now I have 3% deductions, and I'm wondering if I should keep this for the duration of my gap year (or maybe increase/lower it?).

Will this investment actually make a difference after my career in medicine? Or should I lower my contributions and make better use of my money right now..

Just wondering how these retirement accounts work for a career in medicine.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Personally I wouldn't put it in a 401k and I would save it myself so I have some money for when I am a poor medical student with no income.food for thought.

Personally I wouldn't put it in a 401k and I would save it myself so I have some money for when I am a poor medical student with no income.food for thought.

Yeah, that's what I've been thinking. I just wanted to see if people think it's worth it to put away money for retirement at this point in my medical career. It's so hard to think about retirement it'll be another 5 years before I have a paying job as a resident. I'll be a poor medical student in the meantime.

I know people say if your company matches a 401k then it's the smart thing to do (free money)... but I don't know if it's worth losing $ off my paycheck prior to med school next August?

Members don't see this ad :)
Yeah, that's what I've been thinking. I just wanted to see if people think it's worth it to put away money for retirement at this point in my medical career. It's so hard to think about retirement it'll be another 5 years before I have a paying job as a resident. I'll be a poor medical student in the meantime.

I know people say if your company matches a 401k then it's the smart thing to do (free money)... but I don't know if it's worth losing $ off my paycheck prior to med school next August?