509 MCAT, 3.57 cGPA, School List Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nrmed

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I just got my MCAT scores back and I am not sure what to make of my application. I got a 509 (128/127/127/127) but, based on my practice test scores, I really thought I would get above a 510. I'm not sure I should retake it based on my application and the schools I want to apply to, and I could really use some help!

My cGPA should be around a 3.57/3.58 based on how this semester is going and my sGPA should be around a 3.45 (again, a prediction). I go to a top 20 undergraduate university and many of my extracurriculars focus on working with underserved populations. I am really interested in primary care and I am a Minnesota resident. Based on these stats, what schools could I apply to and have a decent shot at?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

You're fine for DOs with your metrics if your main interest is primary care.

But if you want to shoot for MDs, while the 509 is fine, a gap year taking DIY postbac science courses will up your GPAs to a more competitive level.

Hello!

I just got my MCAT scores back and I am not sure what to make of my application. I got a 509 (128/127/127/127) but, based on my practice test scores, I really thought I would get above a 510. I'm not sure I should retake it based on my application and the schools I want to apply to, and I could really use some help!

My cGPA should be around a 3.57/3.58 based on how this semester is going and my sGPA should be around a 3.45 (again, a prediction). I go to a top 20 undergraduate university and many of my extracurriculars focus on working with underserved populations. I am really interested in primary care and I am a Minnesota resident. Based on these stats, what schools could I apply to and have a decent shot at?

Thanks!
Hello!

Thanks!

@Goro

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello!

Thanks!
I suggest:
Temple