A (hopefully) less annoying GPA question thread

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nomattic

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys. I have done a lot of reading about GPA's, prereqs, etc. I just need a little guidance from some more experienced applicants in order to better gauge what schools I should realistically be applying to. While I'd love to go to Regis, CU, Columbia, or NYU, I recognize the need to be honest with myself here.

I have a Bachelor's degree in Sociology from Northeastern U and have been taking my prerequisites at Metro State in Denver. As pathetic as it sounds, my bachelor's GPA was a mere 3.0 all because of my first semester. I steadily improved to earn only A's and B's by my 2nd, 3rd, and 4th year, but that still wasn't enough to overcome my pathetic performance right out of high school. However, I have a 4.0 in my core science prereqs (almost done, just a few more to knock out and I'm confident I'll keep my 4.0). That would make my cumulative GPA about a 3.31 and my core GPA a 4.0 upon application. I have a ton of volunteer hours, a lof of "real world" professional work experience, a lot of observation hours, and am taking the GRE soon.

Bottom line, is my cumulative GPA too low to even apply to certain schools, or would a solid 4.0 science GPA and a great GRE score put me in the running for some of the top tier schools? I'm not trolling here, just some legitimate and honest feedback would be appreciated so I don't waste my time applying to places that would throw my application away before even looking at it. I'm way too broke for that shXt.

Feel free to be as harsh as necessary. :)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: