a question about CA letter

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mikasa

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there, I am a resident in a program outside california. I am thinking about transferring to a California program because my husband might move there. Do I need a CA letter (PTAL) to transfer? If I don't use this letter in case I can't find a position this year or next, can CA letter still be used later when I apply for licensure in california? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

1. What is the procedure for applying for a CA letter?
2. Do we need the letter for Fellowships / Working in CA as well?
3. Is there any point trying to get it now, or should I wait till the need arises, i.e. later?
4. How long does it take usually?
5. Is it worth the effort?

Sorry for my ignorance! :oops:

uhoh! said:
1. What is the procedure for applying for a CA letter?
2. Do we need the letter for Fellowships / Working in CA as well?
3. Is there any point trying to get it now, or should I wait till the need arises, i.e. later?
4. How long does it take usually?
5. Is it worth the effort?

Sorry for my ignorance! :oops: