a unique situation...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MRa2z

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay. so i know you guys are sick of hearing the 'what are my chances' questions, and this isn't that, but something similar, i guess.

here's the deal;

i'm a 3rd year medical student at a DO school in a big city. I've been an average student for the first cpl years. unfortunately, I failed my Comlex Level I exam, ( not by much , but failing is failing ). However, I took my usmle step1 shortly after and passed.. I scored a 228 on the usmle. I'm in the process of retaking the comlex right now.

my question is, i know that i'm not required to release my comlex scores to residency programs when i apply next year...should i divulge my score info given i did decent on the usmle? an administrator at my school told me only divulging the usmle score and not the comlex may 'raise red flags'..but i figure, divulging the comlex score and showing the failed attempt will definitively raise a red flag.

I do have one advantage : my father's best friend , and my godfather of sorts, is an anesthesia program director at a mid/low level anesthesia program. They did residency together, and this program has a history of taking FMG's/weaker candidates. ( The program is fairly respected and has a high board pass rate though. )

at this point, should i say 'screw it' and just hold out for a traditional year or internal med spot ( given my comlex failure), or will my usmle + connection with the program director be enough to have a chance at matching?