MPH Accepted to Harvard, now having second thoughts

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ari_4

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I have been accepted at Harvard for the 1 year MPH in quantitative methods (epi/biostats) for 2016/17. I have an MD and have been working for 2 years. I chose the QM specialization because my plan was to specialize in radiology and do some research.
Being an international student, I have started my application over one year ago, because I had to apply for scholarships early. My problem is that in the meantime, my career plans have changed drastically.
I grew tired of clinical medicine and now I actually want to pursue a full-time career in public health, preferentially in a government / NGO setting, in prevention.

Now I am asking myself 3 questions, to which I have to quickly find an answer :eek::

1. Should I get this MPH at all? It seems from the job posts that I have seen, that work experience is more important than actual degrees, so maybe instead of ditching 50K for my degree I should focus on getting experience?

2. If I still decide to pursue this masters, should I change my track and what should I choose instead?

3. Maybe an in-between would be to differ for a year, but I would loose my 20K Fulbright Scholarship. My question regarding that is: does the network of Fulbright Alumni really helps for someone who wants to work in Europe after their MPH?

If someone can help me see clearer in that mess, I would appreciate it greatly! I have been agonizing over this issue for a few weeks!:help:

Members don't see this ad.

1.) Your MPH will aid you gaining research skills. If you want to do some research, particularly population level research, the MPH will be invaluable. If research is only a small portion of what you'd like to do, maybe just collaborating with others who have the experience would be adequate.