Active Duty Navy Doctor

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NavyFlightSurg

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just thought I'd pay it forward for all the times I used StudentDoctor.net. If anyone has any questions about the military HPSP or Navy specific let me know. I was also on the admissions committee at my school so I have some experience with the application and interveiw process. Ask away!

Members don't see this ad.

I actually recently completed my application for the Navy HPSP. Did you do any operational tours (flight surgery, undersea medicine, GMO) before you went into residency? How did you decide between Army, Navy, and Air Force?

I have heard opposing 'opinions' or claims about the future of GMO's and from sources across the entire spectrum of credibility (current Captains, random statistics online, SDN itself, my peers, etc.).

What do you know about the near future (~3+ years form now) with regards to the Navy's policy on who goes straight through versus serving as a GMO before their residency? I've heard such differing opinions that perhaps this is something you cannot really know for sure until its the year of...

Thanks in advance, I'm sure I'll ask more questions in this thread.

Members don't see this ad :)
...and just read your username. Change that question to how do you like flight surgery (I'm very interested in doing it)?

Do you have any regrets about HSPS or military medicine in general? I was very highly considering the scholarship, but I read some horror stories about the lack of control regarding training/lifestyle/etc. If you could do it all over again, would you choose to sign up after residency or would you still choose the scholarship?

Hopefully I answer everything: